Skip to content

What’s the Word? – One Little Word Project

Ali Edwards is a mother, photographer and documenter of life.  I’ve followed her blog for some time. Her digital scrapbook layouts are inspiring without being cheesy, and I could only dream of finding the time or inclination to document my own world quite so beautifully. In 2006, Ali began the One Little Word project – choosing one word for herself each January.

a word that I can focus on, mediate on, and reflect upon as I go about my daily life. I invite it into my life. I live with it. I let it speak to me. I might even follow where it leads.

Ali says, “Choosing a word each year came about as an alternative to a list of resolutions. I wanted something I could hold close and actually develop a relationship with over the course of the year.

Some years my word has made a major difference, and other years it’s been a more silent companion through the challenges and celebrations in my life.

The action of choosing a word (or having a word find you) is full of potential and possibility. And here’s one thing that’s totally interesting: sometimes a word pops into your brain and it doesn’t make any sense right now. Give it some time. Let it percolate a bit. I have often found that our hearts speak to us in very unique ways. Maybe it’s a word you need to hear, but you just aren’t ready for it yet. Again, be open to the possibilities.

Your word can be tangible or intangible. It can be a thought or a feeling or an emotion. It can be singular or plural. It might be silly or serious. It might be something you want to bring to your life. It might be something you want or need to change.”

A single word can be a powerful thing. It can be the ripple in the pond that changes everything. It can be sharp and biting, or rich and soft and slow. The key is to find something that has personal meaning for you. This is not your mother’s word, or your spouse’s word, or your child’s word – this is YOUR word.

I thought I’d choose my own word this year.  Something simple to carry with me and reflect upon.  I chose:

INTENTIONAL

in·ten·tion·al/inˈtenCHənl/

Adjective:  Done on purpose, deliberate

Synonyms:  Deliberate, wilful, willful, purposeful, intended

There are days when I feel like I’m floating through life – sucked up by the immediate needs of others (my kids, the school, my husband, the dog, the house) or the hedonistic needs of my psyche (sleep 30 more minutes, eat one more cookie, it’s too cold to go for a run.)

In 2012 I want to live with intention.  I want to write with intention, parent with intention, take care of myself with intention and take care of others with intention.

I want to get haircuts with intention so that I don’t look like Mr. American Apparel.  I don’t have a problem with emo-chic.  But seriously, have you seen my photo?  I can’t pull off that haircut.

What’s your word for 2012?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I would have to say my word for this year would be Happy. Thank you for posting this information. Great stuff!

    January 18, 2012
    • My pleasure, Dimitie. Thanks for stopping by. “Happy” is so simple but sometimes we need a reminder to be happy. Why else would Bobby McFerrin have been such a one-hit wonder?

      January 18, 2012
  2. great word for 2012! may all your intentions bring great things to you! I have written about my word of the year on my blog if you wish to read about it!

    January 22, 2012
    • Thanks for visiting, With an Angel on My Shoulder. I hope that 2012 is everything you hope for.

      January 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

