Skip to content

Have you been writing? I have.

Wow!  A break of 20 days feels like an eternity.  I should have warned you ahead of time, but it didn’t start out as an intentional break.  It started out as a long weekend in the mountains which led to several weeks filled with deadline sensitive work and then led to several days of complacency.  Writing is like anything else you do regularly – it takes discipline.  And once you’re out of the habit, it’s harder and harder to bring yourself back to it.

The good news is that I’ve been writing – a lot.  The writing has mostly been journalistic endeavors and non-fiction pieces, but that’s what pays the bills.  And I do love my bread-and-butter writing projects.  They are comfortable and easy and keep my fingers limber and my mind active.  I’ve also been plugging away on a business plan for a nonprofit organization in our area.  Business plans go hand in hand with the strategic planning arm of my consulting business, but I’ve never actually penned one start-to-finish.  What an in-depth project!  And time consuming.  It’s always exciting to watch a young organization transform from a small mom-and-pop organization to a fully staffed and sustainable nonprofit – at least on paper.  Once that part is finished, the work is in the hands of the capable volunteers (soon to be staff) of the organization.  I couldn’t be happier for them.

I’ve also taken a stab at reorganizing my schedule to include more time for fiction writing.  At the end of February, much to my chagrin, I realized that I was spending more time writing about fiction writing than actually writing fiction.  That needed to change.  So I got back to my fiction writing with a vengeance.  I’m attending a writer’s conference at the end of April, and knew that I needed to have some serious wordcount under my belt in order to feel legitimate in the fiction workshops.  I’m pleased to say the ideas have been flying onto the page.  The “map” has been a wonderful tool – and as it always goes with fiction writing, my characters have taken on personalities of their own and are leading me to places that aren’t even on the map.  Those magical places surfacing from the crevices of my subconscious are the best gifts you can receive as a fiction writer.  In spite of the fact that I feel fidgety when my characters veer from the safety of the map, I know that these adventures are the ones into which I need to dive the most deeply.

How have you all been? How’s the writing going?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow – sounds like you are busy! And hey.. gotta pay the bills, right?

    I put my WIP down for a while.. but have since picked it back up. And I have been doing a lot of blogging.

    March 19, 2012
  2. You seem to have been really busy. I’ve been working on some pretty old poems of mine so I can put them together in a thematic, (snazzy) pamphlet and perform locally. Like you though, I’ve been very busy with the job that pays the bills (teaching in my case – I can’t argue about that) so I’m only just finding a spot of time in the evening to edit my novel and give it the attention it needs before I send it off for greater things. And then there’s all manner of comps to enter to make me sharper than I am and, right now I need to choose and hone the main poem I’ll perform in a spoken word event at the end of the month. Good luck to you in all your busy and exciting projects – especially your voluntary business project.

    March 19, 2012
  3. Reblogged this on Inkings and Inklings.

    March 19, 2012
  4. I’ve been trying to write a bit most days. At least 10 minutes which of course turns into more.

    March 19, 2012
    • You’re so right, Natalie. It’s just like exercise for me. 10 minute always turns into more once my muscles are warmed up.

      March 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The One Where I Turn Writer | Bibliofanatique

Leave a Reply

