Skip to content

Scrivener Giveaway Announcement

** This contest is closed.  Thank you to everyone for entering.  The winners are:

  1. Natalie Aguirre.  Natalie is revising a middle grade fantasy and starting a YA urban fantasy.  You can check out her blog here.
  2. BookLover.  BookLover is working on a short Regency romance.  You can check out BookLover’s blog here.
  3. Lisa B.  Lisa has a novel in progress that doesn’t get enough of her attention (mostly because of two kids, 4 and 2, who get most of my attention). Check out her blog here

Thanks again everyone and as always, happy writing!***

With all the buzz about Scrivener on my blog in the past few days, the very kind people at Literature and Latte have offered to provide three (3) copies of the Scrivener for Microsoft Windows software for my readers.  In honor of President’s Day weekend in the U.S., I’m offering up these three copies to my readers.  The prize is a digital licensing code which will allow you to instantly license your trial version of Scrivener and use it forever and ever. I will provide the code after I select the winners.  You might want to check out this post for more details about why I’ve fallen in love with the program.

  • PRIZE: One (1) licensing code to activate your own copy of Scrivener for Microsoft Windows from Literature and Latte. (3 prizes are up for grabs.) (The licenses are only for Scrivener for Microsoft Windows. Not the MAC OS X version.)
  • TO ENTER: Comment on this post with the words “I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…”
  • BONUS QUESTION: … what are working on? … what work-in-progress will Scrivener help you complete? (Answering the bonus question doesn’t get you an additional entry. I’m just curious about what my readers are writing.)
  • OTHER WAYS TO ENTER:

1.  You can find me on Twitter.  Become a follower and you’ll automatically be entered again. (If you’re already a follower, just let me know.)

2.  Tweet about the contest  and you’ll receive one additional entry.
“I’m trying to win my own copy of @ScrivenerApp over at @samill1: http://wp.me/p1Ticw-95 You can enter, too! #writing #writetip”

3. Become a follower of the blog.  See that follow form on the sidebar? Yep – that’s the one. (Already a follower? Just let me know in the comments.)

4. Go “Like” my Facebook page and you’ll receive one additional entry. (Do you already “Like” me – blush, blush – just let me know.  Otherwise I’ll track new “Likes” only.)

That’s five entries total including your original comment on the post.

  • GIVEAWAY CLOSES: Wednesday, February 22nd at 8pm MST
  • NUMBER OF WINNERS: Three
  • PRIZE SHIPS: It’s digital, so you can live anywhere to win it.
  • FINE PRINT: One entry per e-mail address is permitted. The winners will be selected using random.org and announced on Thursday, February 23, 2012, as an update to this post. That’s right, come right back here on Thursday for the announcement of the winners. Good luck…

Note: I wasn’t paid or perked for this giveaway, I’m just doing it to thank you readers for stopping in. Pictures are courtesy of Scrivener by Literature and Latte

67 Comments Post a comment
  1. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…because I think I see it in my ‘future’ as a writer. Right now I’m working on a short Regency romance.

    February 17, 2012
  2. I’m a follower of your awesome blog!

    February 17, 2012
  3. I ‘liked’ your fb page as Eva-Joy Schonhaar.

    February 17, 2012
  4. Jim aka The Wordslinger #

    I want to write like a pro!

    I’d love to try scrivener to see how it compares to new novelist. This would be a big help for my novel!

    February 17, 2012
  5. pls add me 🙂 already a follower of your blog.

    February 17, 2012
  6. Jim aka The Wordslinger #

    Almost forgot, I’m a subscriber of the blog and a twitter follower!

    February 17, 2012
  7. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…..as I have too many things going at once – loose ends to wrap up, and new ideas all the time. I love the idea of cards, folders, and the cork board. I’m working, mainly, on two totally different projects — the first is historical fiction based in a New York hot springs spa town in the early 1900s, and the second is a collection of “mom-oir” essays about being a mom to twin boys.

    P.S. I already follow your blog 🙂

    February 17, 2012
  8. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…
    Scrivener can help me with a story I’m developing about an every day guy, with a bevvy of personal problems, who is struck by lightening and becomes anything but ordinary. He absorbs the experiences and abilities of other people – through the touch of a hand. His personal problems don’t go away, they just get more complex…

    February 17, 2012
  9. Following on Twitter, tweeted, already follow your blog and Liked you on FB!

    February 17, 2012
  10. Okay, now I’m following you on both my Writing and Weight Loss Twitter accounts – and tweeted to both

    February 17, 2012
  11. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…

    February 17, 2012
  12. Mark C #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… I write non-fiction, fiction, comics, film history papers, you name it!

    February 18, 2012
  13. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… so that I can’t use the excuse that I don’t have the proper tools to write.

    February 18, 2012
  14. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO BECAUSE… I want to take a passion of mine and turn it into a professional career. And that starts with professional tools. And plus because my trial ran out and I can’t figure out how to get my work off of it :/

    February 18, 2012
  15. DE LOFTIS #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…

    i am considering a sci-fi called Doomsday Conspiracy.

    Completed some poetry (ie “Nothing Grows At Ground Zero”

    February 18, 2012
  16. Sarah M. #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…because it’s what I was born to do! I love Scrivener, but I’m coming to the end of my free trial. It’s almost time to pay, so I figured I’d try to win this instead!

    I also tweeted about, followed you on here and Twitter, and liked you on Facebook.

    February 18, 2012
  17. Sarah M. #

    Oh…and I’m working on a young adult fantasy novel. With Scrivener, of course!

    February 18, 2012
  18. I WANT TO RIGHT LIKE A PRO… my writing and ideas are too haphazard and muddled. I need some discipline! Current story idea is based on a group of creatures that eat shadows.

    February 18, 2012
  19. Sandra #

    I want to write like a pro… As my workspace for my writings is a scattered mess of various documents and files and sometimes, organising it all can be very annoying, especially when the inspiration comes to me.
    I’m following you on twitter under the ID chocowithcurves, and it is with this same account, that I tweeted the offer.
    I’ve liked you on facebook, with the name Sandra Ebulu, and I’ve subscribed to your blog. Please count me in.
    Thanks.

    February 18, 2012
  20. Marc #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO! and im sick of having to reuse the temporary free version as I work on my novel about the post-apocalyptic world (300 pages done so far!) Thanks!

    February 18, 2012
  21. Michel #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO, which is not yet possible on Windows right now. But I am going to be the winner of Scrivener, then I CAN WRITE LIKE A PRO! 😉

    February 18, 2012
  22. Kevin #

    I want to write like a Pro…because writing like an amateur isn’t really cutting it.

    February 18, 2012
  23. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO … I have a novel in progress that doesn’t get near enough of my attention (mostly because of two kids, 4 and 2, who get most of my attention). I love the research and organizational features you described about the software. Seems great! Thanks for the opportunity!

    February 18, 2012
  24. I already follow you on Twitter, and I tweeted about the contest.

    February 18, 2012
  25. And I follow the blog and liked your Facebook page. 🙂

    February 18, 2012
  26. Bob DeGrande #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… Actually, I want to give it to my brother, who has written three novels with tools not nearly as good as Scrivener. followed on Twitter and tweeted.

    February 18, 2012
  27. Just “liked” u as Virginia Border. Have a great weekend!!!

    February 18, 2012
  28. Josh Garner #

    I want to write like pro so I can get this unruly novel done.

    February 18, 2012
  29. Ed #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… My daughter uses it on her Mac, and I’d love a copy for myself to use on Windows. Thanks.

    February 18, 2012
  30. Christopher Kueny #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…

    February 18, 2012
  31. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO.

    I tried the trial version of Scrivener and loved it. Would love to win a copy so I can get all my writing organised. Currently working on the second in a three-part paranormal dystopian series.

    Followed, tweeted, subscribed and liked too.

    February 18, 2012
  32. Bageb #

    I want to write like a pro and I follow u on Twitter. I am working in the story of my family and our unusual first home.

    February 18, 2012
  33. Ed #

    “I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…” because it’s preferable to writing like an amateur (or should that be ‘AMA’?). Also, I do quite like using Scrivener, so I’d be pleased to have a proper registered copy.

    February 18, 2012
  34. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…Scrivener is the software for writers, period. If I have a license, I will use it for all my writing projects: PhD Thesis, academic essays, journals, novels, blog-posts, screenplays, even as repositories of pdf files and associated notes with lots of cross-linkings between documents. It allows both the rigor of a structured framework for writing and the flexibility of ‘associative’ growth of ideas. It is a software which disciplines and enhances one’s writings. If easy selection and clinical excision of one’s collected and developed ideas is all about writing like a pro, then one cannot be such a pro without Scrivener 🙂

    February 18, 2012
  35. mamorrell #

    I want to write like a Pro: after reading your comments on Scrivener, I definitely believe it to be a tool to help me do that….

    I am writing about an FBI agent who works the federal crimes on an Indian Reservation….murder being the prime crime…..wish me luck!!

    February 18, 2012
  36. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…

    February 18, 2012
  37. I want to write like a pro. Ive been writing practically all my life. I believe my life has been carefully orchestrated testimonies, one after the other. I am finally answering the call to share the story.

    February 18, 2012
  38. Ed Lang #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… Love that the Windows version has been released!

    February 19, 2012
  39. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO! This looks like the coolest program! I am writing my first novel about a recurring dream I’ve had in which my grandmother is a burlesque queen. The story is about her rise from ophan to star!

    February 19, 2012
  40. Kristin White #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO. I need a great tool to help organize my thoughts for my current WIP and this looks great!!

    February 19, 2012
  41. I want to write like a pro because back when I was a kid I had always wanted to be a writer. I loved books and stories of all kind and had hoped that I would be able to create my own story that I could see in actual print one day. I had put this dream on the back burner, like many people do when they grow up, but have decided that It’s never too late to get reacquainted with your dreams. I have discovered that while dreams may become buried, sometimes by life’s circumstances, they are never truly forgotten.

    What am I working on…..I am currently still writing a YA fantasy novel that I started about a year ago.

    February 20, 2012
  42. I want to write like a pro – actually, I have been writing since I was fourteen and my last work was my doctoral dissertation, which I will defend within the next month or so (depending on how the red tape works). I am always writing several things at once (fiction, nonfiction, short stories blog posts) and it looks like Scrivener is much better than the post-its and random notes on slips of paper and the back of my hand method.

    February 20, 2012
  43. I want to write like a pro and never will if I can’t stay organized 🙂 I’ve been wanting to try Scrivener FOREVER. I’ve got a lot of irons in the fire. Currently, I’m working on a novel, a picture book, and a NF book. Technically, I have a few picture books in the works, and a couple novels 😀 And a short story LOL It’s a lot to keep organized and I could soooo use the help! 🙂

    I’ve followed (on Twitter and blog), liked and tweeted 🙂

    February 20, 2012
  44. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO . . . I havn’t tried Scrivener yet, and would like to. Followed you on Twitter, tweeted, and liked you on FB. Thanks for the interesting articles on the software, as well. I’m working on a novel I started during NaNoWriMo, as well as a couple of picture books in the works. More info on my books and upcoming ones at: http://www.shutta.com.

    February 21, 2012
  45. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO….I’m finishing my revision of Serendipity and Me for Viking, due out in 2013. But I’m interested in Scrivener for writing a screenplay. You can find me and my own contest at http://www.judithlroth.com. Thanks!

    February 21, 2012
  46. Joseph Miller #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… and this looks like some fun software to play with.

    February 21, 2012
  47. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… I’m working on a middle grade fantasy novel. Also already a follower!

    February 21, 2012
  48. Andy #

    I want to write like a pro… because the characters in my story deserve it.

    I’m editing my YA Victorian adventure at the moment; your recent posts on structure have been a great reminder of how important it is in any story – thank you!

    February 21, 2012
  49. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO …I’m working on several picture books, a novel and my 15th play for children! Could use some help keeping it all organized! Happy Writing! http://jenniferkirkeby.blogspot.com/

    February 21, 2012
  50. danielle hammelef #

    I want to write like a pro…this software would be amazing help on my middle grade novel as well as future educational books!

    February 21, 2012
  51. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…because all my writing thus far has been amateur. Specifically, and in answer to your “bonus” question, thanks to NaNoWriMo I have four first drafts I need to spend some quality time with.
    I already follow you on Twitter.

    February 21, 2012
  52. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO… so I researched Scrivener ages ago. It was highly recommended but didn’t offer a PC version so I’ve been using a Scrivener-recommended competitor. Finally downloaded Scrivener for PC a couple weeks ago, got through the tutorial, and am transferring files for my just-started graphic novel onto it.
    I have two other books in negotiation right now; I’m very excited about putting all my books on Scrivener and enjoying a new process that’s a LOT more organized.
    Off to follow, tweet, like…
    And btw Shutta Crum also announced your contest to our SCBWI region — that’s what brought me here.

    February 21, 2012
  53. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO … I used the Scrivener trial and liked it. I’m working on a literary novel set in a music festival featuring a 20-something girl with a special ability and an otherworldly element.

    February 21, 2012
  54. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…I often don’t write my scenes in order, so I think this software could be really useful! Thanks for the chance!

    February 21, 2012
  55. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO; I’m revising a middle grade fantasy and starting a YA urban fantasy. I’ve heard great things about scrivener (we use a really different version at work) and would love to try it.

    I like you on Facebook & added your site to my blogroll.

    February 21, 2012
  56. “I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…” I can definitely use some help organizing!

    February 21, 2012
  57. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO! Great contest–count me in. I have writer friends who started using this program and have never looked back. I’d love to start a new book from scratch using it! 🙂

    I follow everywhere I believe. Does that make me a stalker? 🙂

    Angela

    February 22, 2012
  58. I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…because I feel writing in my bones. I am working on a chapter book for children…and numbers of picture books, and stories, and articles. I’ve just jumped into this adventure and wonder where it will take me. I wonder what magical devices will help me float, roll, stumble, run, and fly there…maybe Scrivener will be one of those.

    February 22, 2012
    • PS…I follow your blog, and liked your FB page….

      February 22, 2012
  59. Suzanne Klein #

    I WANT TO WRITE LIKE A PRO…I’m working on a middle grade children’s book and would love to have some pre-built organizational tools.

    February 22, 2012
  60. Rob Yunker #

    I want to write like a pro. I’m tired of dealing with constant formatting issues. If Scrivener is a dream come true for writers–count me in! Thanks for looking out for your fellow writers.

    February 22, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Using Scrivener to Write a Novel | Sara Toole Miller – Fiction & Non-Fiction Writer
  2. Scrivener Giveaway Update | Sara Toole Miller – Fiction & Non-Fiction Writer
  3. The Mind Map – Give your ideas a visual form: Novel Writing Prep Series | Sara Toole Miller – Fiction & Non-Fiction Writer
  4. » Kid Lit Round-up Time, Cybils, & Scrivener giveaway! Shutta Crum

Leave a Reply

