Skip to content

The 7×7 Link Award and the Versatile Blogger Award

We spent a long weekend skiing with friends (both old and new), and I have some serious catching up to do on the blog.  First off, I’ve been given two blog awards by Kay over at a2realhousewife.  She gave me the 7×7 Link Award and the Versatile Blogger Award.  Kay, I’m so appreciative of both of these honors. I met Kay (virtually) when she started following my blog.  I was delighted to meet someone with whom I can vicariously experience all the wonders of Ann Arbor’s cuisine.  I lived and worked in Ann Arbor many years ago, and Kay is a wonderful source to remind me of all things Ann Arbor that I love!  She also has a beautiful blog background!

I have learned that there are rules to the acceptance of these awards.  Each award has slightly different rules, but for the purposes of this blog, I’m combining, morphing and creating my own set of rules.

Rules to these awards:

  1. Thank the person who gave it to you.
  2. Share 7 unusual things about yourself.
  3. Share 7 of your worthy posts under the following heads- Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful, Most Popular, Most Controversial, Most Surprisingly Successful, Most Underrated, and Most Pride Worthy.
  4. Nominate seven other bloggers and notify them.

So… here goes.

Thank you, thank you to Kay at a2realhousewife. I gave you a little bit of information about her above.

Share 7 unusual things about yourself:

  1. I was raised in the suburbs of Chicago. As a result of this, I used to say Wis-cahn-sin and even “melk” (milk) and “pellow” (pillow). If you’re from the Chicago area, you’ll get the reference.
  2. We lived in St. Louis for two years. While there, we bought a historic house built in 1900. We renovated and restored it ourselves. It was beautiful. It had a wrap-around front porch and a sleeping porch off the master bedroom. Those are two things I’ve always wanted in a house. This house (complete with wrap-around porch and sleeping porch) is Ivy’s house in my 2011 NaNoWriMo historical fiction novel (still in progress).
  3. I have a crazy texture aversion that doesn’t allow me to eat anthing that dollops (i.e., mushy things) – mashed potatoes, pudding, sour cream, creamy icing, soft ice cream. These things make me gag.
  4. While in college I spent time working on medical teams in the jungles of Argentina and the mountains of Bolivia. I got to pull teeth and perform toe surgery.
  5. I once played Veruca Salt in a community theater version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I think it was the highlight of my acting career. I play a really good spoiled brat.  I’m not a brat, but I was definitely spoiled. Being the youngest child, and a girl, my parents always let me make the decisions about where we went on vacation, where we went out to eat, etc.
  6. I belong to the Dog and Cat Writers Associations of America. I didn’t even know those existed before I started my freelance writing career.
  7. I delivered my second son myself in the car on I-70 (the busiest highway in America) while my husband was still driving the car 85 mph. I was in the front seat.

Nominate seven other bloggers and notify them:

  1. Crazy Bloggin’ Canuck by Amber.  Amber makes me laugh everyday when she describes her travels and her family’s adventures across the world.
  2. I Do Not Like Green Eggs and Ham, I Do Not Like Them Sam I Am by my dear friend Susan.  Susan’s blog takes you on the journey of her infant son who was diagnosed with congenital heart defects.  Today Sam is happy and healthy and getting ready for surgery #2 in 2012-13.
  3. One Mom in Maine by Emilie.  I started reading Emilie’s blog when I got into running.  She is more than just a runner.  She is a mother, a teacher, a writer and an inspiration.
  4. Kiera Photo by Kiera Dubach.  Kiera is a personal friend and an amazing photographer.  She blogs about her experiences as a photographer specializing in weddings, families and senior portraits.  Love you, Kiera.  (If you live in or near Indianapolis, give Kiera a call.  She also travels to shoot destination weddings.)
  5. How About Orange by Jessica Jones.  Jessica is a graphic designer in Chicago.  Her daily posts offer up cute craft ideas and highlight her fabulous eye for design.
  6. Proud Living by Natalie.  I already bestowed the Liebster award upon Natalie, but I think her blog deserves a second award.  Natalie is a mother and a brilliant writer.  Her posts make me see my own life and family in a new way.  She makes me want to live more intentionally.  And she makes me laugh, too.
  7. Four Obsessions by Kate.  I used to work with Kate years ago in Ann Arbor.  She is a mom, a knitter, a reader, a chef and a writer.  She has wonderul suggestions for books to read and recipes to make.

Many thanks to all of you who make the blogosphere that much more vibrant.  Happy writing, everyone!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Congrats with your nominations and stuff – what a versatile blogger you must be. Thanks for your 7 unusual pieces of information about yourself. Some of those “gems” will remain with me for quite a long time I imagine… delivering your own son for instance. That has to be the work of an independent woman. Phew 😉

    February 14, 2012
    • Thanks, loveofwords52. I don’t know that I would say independent woman as much as woman without a choice. My son came faster than anyone expected and just took us by surprise! 🙂

      February 14, 2012
  2. My nephew has the “crazy” texture aversion. He is an attorney who graduated from Duke. Up until now, I thought he was alone in his unique reflex. I can’t wait to tell him. The house sounds lovely.

    February 14, 2012
    • I have found one other person with my weird texture aversion. It’s mostly a curse, but a sometimes a blessing. Think about all of the fattening dessert that dollop (icing, pudding, mousse, creme pies, cheesecake – doesn’t dollop but is mushy, etc.) Chocolate chip cookies are about the only dessert I obsess over.

      February 14, 2012
  3. Congrats on your nomination! You truly deserve it 🙂

    February 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

