Skip to content

Take a break. It’s Valentine’s Day!

It’s Valentine’s Day!  Even though I work most nights after my kids go to bed, tonight I’m taking a break to celebrate with my husband – the best guy I know and the level-headed, left brained person to my dream-bigger-than-reality, right brained personality.

We try to avoid the crowds and we love to cook, so we stay in on Valentine’s Day.  Tonight on the menu:

Cheddar, Garlic and Zinfandel Fondue

INGREDIENTS

  • 12 ounces (4 1/2 cups) extra sharp Cheddar cheese (finely grated)
  • 2 ounces (1/2 cup) Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (finely grated)
  • 1 cup Zinfandel (or another hearty red wine)
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup roasted garlic puree (recipe below)
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper flakes

DIRECTIONS

1. In a medium saucepan, bring wine and vinegar to a simmer over medium heat.

2. Toss the Cheddar, Parmigiano-Reggiano, and cornstarch in a mixing bowl. Slowly stir in cheese mixture in small handfuls until completely melted. Stir in roasted garlic and season with pepper flakes.

3. Transfer to a cheese fondue pot and keep warm with burner. Serve right away.

Roasted Garlic Puree

DIRECTIONS

1.Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut 2 large garlic heads in half, while trying to keep the cloves intact. Pour a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil over the cut surfaces and put the two garlic heads back together.

2. Wrap in aluminum foil and bake until the garlic is softened (40 to 50 minutes depending on size). Cloves should be a deep beige. Unwrap and let cool completely.

3. Squeeze garlic into a bowl, discarding the hulls. Mash with a fork until smooth. Use for seasoning for fondue or spread onto bread.

We dip french bread, fresh vegetables, steak and chicken in this stuff.  And then we eat the rest right out of the bowl – it’s that yummy! Here’s a link to the actual recipe.

Take a break from your writing tonight.  I’ll be spending some time in the real world with the people I love instead of time inside my head with the characters I love.

How are you spending your Valentine’s Day?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Taking the love of my life to a small plates (tapas) restaurant named XO on Elm. We’ll dine on fine food and wine. I will enjoy the conversation and company of my beautiful lady who will be wearing a short skirt and a bright smile.

    February 14, 2012
    • I love it, Werner. I’m a huge tapas fan. We don’t have any great tapas places up in the mountains where we live, but Denver has a few great ones that my husband and I visit whenever we have the chance. Enjoy the company and the food!

      February 14, 2012
  2. Vix #

    My other half and I stayed in to cook too. We tried a new recipe – sweet potato burgers! We had a great time in the kitchen together and enjoyed the food too. Afterwards, we took a quick walk to get some choccies and then curled up with a movie. Bliss!

    February 15, 2012
    • Hi, Vix. Thanks for stopping by my corner of the blogosphere. It sounds like you had a great Valentine’s day evening. Sweet potato burgers sound wonderful – I never would have thought to try that. I’ll admit, I had to google the word “choccies.” I’ve never heard that phrase. Thanks for introducing me to something new that I will use daily because I do love me some chocolates! 🙂

      February 15, 2012

Leave a Reply

