Skip to content

Twitter Hashtags for Writers

Image found here

One of my writing goals for 2012 was to find my place on Twitter and Facebook.  How many of us would like to incorporate these tools into our writing life in a useful way? Admittedly, Twitter and Facebook can be some of the greatest time sucks for a writer.  However, when used in the right way these social media tools can help you build meaningful relationships and online conversations.  The best way I’ve found to locate like-minded Twitterers is using hashtags. If you use Tweetdeck, you can set up a column for each hashtag and follow the conversations in real time.  I’ve starred the hashtags I find the most useful or engaging.

  • #amwriting (*)
  • #askagent (*)
  • #author
  • #fridayreads (*)
  • #litchat (*)
  • #novels
  • #novelists
  • #poetry
  • #poettues (writer chats)
  • #pubtip  (publication tips)
  • #publishing
  • #scifi
  • #selfpublishing
  • #vss (very, very short)
  • #webfic  (web fiction)
  • #weblit   (web literature)
  • #wip   (work in progress)
  • #writer
  • #writerwednesday (#WW) (*)
  • #writetip  (writing advice) (*)
  • #writing (*)
  • #writingtips  (writing advice)
  • #yalit (*)
  • #yalitchat

Do you tweet? Are there any hashtags that you have found useful? Leave me a comment or look me up on Twitter and let’s chat!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Like This!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for this list. I’m thinking about revising all my twitter lists, since my writers information is way too hard to follow at the moment!

    February 2, 2012
    • Sometimes Twitter is just a blur of information for me. I’m trying to get the hang of it and streamline what’s coming in, hcfitzpa. Let me know how your twitter list revising goes and if you have any good tips!

      February 2, 2012
  2. yay! I will do this — find you and hashtag! thanks!!

    February 2, 2012
    • Looking forward to meeting you on Twitter, Alyssa. Thanks for stopping by.

      February 2, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Power of the Twitter Hashtag | Studmuffin Media
  2. Speculative Reminiscences: Weekly Recap for 1/26/2014 | The World Remains Mysterious

Leave a Reply

