Skip to content

5 Favorite Children’s Books

I mentioned in my post on procrastination how much I love to read to my kids.  I could while away hours snuggled under a blanket on the couch, one kid under each arm and a stack of books in our laps.

After reading this post by Kate over at Centsational Girl (http://www.centsationalgirl.com/2011/11/twenty-great-new-childrens-books/) I was inspired to put together my own list of favorites.

  1. Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

 

Little Pea wants desperately to eat his dessert (SPINACH!) but can’t until he eats his dinner (five pieces of candy).  This book is a great twist on the age old problem of kids who won’t eat their vegetables.  I love the illustrations, too.

2.  The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson

My kids know every word to this rhyming book by heart.  The gruffalo’s terrible tusks and terrible jaws and terrible teeth and terrible jaws are no match for the timid little mouse who doesn’t want to be anyone’s dinner.

3.  Perloo the Bold by Avi

This award-winning book tells the tale of Perloo, a quiet rabbit who loves reading his history books in his warm burrow.  Perloo leads a peaceful life until he is summoned into an adventure to faraway lands.  A great story with a great message.

4.  The entire Anatole the Mouse series by Eve Titus

I read these books as a kid, and my boys love them, too.  Anatole, his family and his mouse partner, Gaston, have adventures throughout Paris. Anatole is named the Fist Vice-President in Charge of Cheese Tasting at the Duval Cheese Factory, and must outwit a coniving cat, parachute off the Eiffel Tower and navigate the big city on his tiny bicycle.

5.  Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein

This books is great for teaching the importance of manners – Little Red Chicken can’t help but interrupt her papa during his bedtime stories.  She’s always offering up her two cents about how to save the heroines of his stories.  More importantly, the book is hilarious.  Kids want to read it over and over.

Here’s hoping that some of these inspire you to head out to your library and pick up a couple (or an entire totebag full) of books to share with your kids.  Some of my favorite memories as a child were sitting around the table listening to my mom read Winnie-the-Pooh.  We loved when she made up different voices for each character. I still use that same gloomy Eeyore voice when I read Winnie-the-Pooh to my own kids.  I can’t think of a better way to spend Thanksgiving than reading as a family.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I always loved “Are You My Mother?” when I was a kid.

    Great post! 🙂

    November 23, 2011
  2. I have not read any of these books. Now I have some new titles to find. My kids love Kipper’s ABC’s Adventure and just about anything from Tomie DiPoala.

    November 23, 2011
  3. I haven’t heard of these, but I’m always on the lookout for new books to bring home from the library. Thanks for the recommendations!

    November 23, 2011
  4. Hi, You have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award. Congrats! :- ) http://dimitiekendall.com/

    November 24, 2011
  5. Love this post! I completely forgot about Anatole & I will have to find the Pea & Gruffalo at the library 🙂

    January 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

