Skip to content

WWW(W): Writing on the Web this Week about Writing

I don’t know about you, but I’m always inspired by the community of writers (and readers) who share valuable and smile-inducing information in their blogs.  During your writing breaks this weekend, take a few moments to read some of these articles that have been floating around the internet this week.  I hope these articles will fill up your own writing well with new inspiration, and you might just discover a new blog to follow. 

Meanwhile, check out the Contact button up above if you’re looking for other places to find me in cyberspace.  In addition to this blog,  you can find me on Twitter and Facebook.  Have a great weekend and Happy Writing!

  • I tweeted about this post on i09 ealier this week.  “How to Write a Sincere First Draft of Your Science Fiction or Fantasy Epic”  I don’t write either sci-fi or fantasy, but I still found some helpful tips on “Figuring out what you really meant to write, instead of the garbage you actually did write…”
  • I love Writer Unboxed.  This writers’ community started in 2006 by then unpublished (and now published) authors Therese Walsh and Kathleen Bolton, offers up a collection of tips and musings from emerging and veteran authors, literary agents and more.  Today’s post “Turning the Soil” was by guest poster Sarah Callender.  It will be helpful for all writers who are struggling with their story’s seeds of doubt.  I suscribe to National Geographic’s motto “Live Curious,” and Callendar’s post drove home the challenges and thrills that living curious presents.

    “Identifying and exploring one’s sense of wonder is thrilling; it is also scary. It is deeply satisfying; it is also hard, hard work. We must do the hard work of turning the soil, of disturbing and disrupting the earth, if the dirt in which we plant our story seeds will yield anything worth harvesting.”

  • Do you ever feel like there are eight million people offering up words of wisdom about being a writer, but maybe eight who actually give you concrete tips?  If you’re having one of those days – needing a “show me, don’t tell me” place to visit – hang out at Flogging the Quill.  This website, written by author and editor, Ray Rhamey, is filled with those concrete tips.  Ray’s Flogometer provides the opportunity to submit your first page and receive feedback from Ray and his writers as to whether your first page would compel them to keep reading.  The latest post was about Jack’s opening chapter of Night of the New Hummingbird
  • In the spirit of my recent Ira Glass post, I was so happy to see someone else addressing “The Gap” that Glass mentions.  Men with Pens is a web design and web copy writing business.  The Men with Pens blog frequently has helpful tips for non-fiction and fiction writers.  “How to Fight Your Way Through the Writing Gap” gave inspiring insights into overcoming your fear of the gap.  I loved this line:

[It] will never stop being difficult. But you may stop being daunted by difficulty.

The question is whether you want to stop being daunted now, or in twenty years.

  • Finally, you must visit Two Writing Teachers, a blog written by Ruth Ayres and Stacey Shubitz, two women who teach writing and literacy to kids on opposite sides of the country.  “Storytelling” gave me warm fuzzies.  I’m helping to start a literary magazine for the students at my son’s elementary school, and I get such a rush from the excitement that young kids experience in their moments of creative exploration.  Be sure to read this post.  It will renew your faith in the power of storytelling by and for all ages.
8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sara, I love this post! When I stop to breath and eat some crackers at some point this weekend (I am NaNoWriMoing this year) I am absolutely going to check out these links…

    Enjoy your weekend! 😀

    November 4, 2011
  2. Great links and sites! Thanks for sharing to all us writers! 🙂

    November 4, 2011
  3. HI Sara,

    I’m grateful to have found this posting. I know for me as a new writer I need a lot of help, advise and frankly the knowledge that I am not alone in trying to create something that has become very important to me. Its hard because most people do not want to talk about their ‘process’, and writing can be a very lonely process of thinking, feeling and living. I’m new to the blogging, tweeting and social networking arena. But as I try to find my way, I decided to create a website that documents my process of writing. Whether good or bad tactics.. its away of me watching my progress and maybe lending a hand to someone else in the same shoes. Thanks for the post.!!!!

    November 4, 2011
    • Best of luck to you with the blog, Natasha. Thanks for visiting my corner of the blogosphere.

      November 8, 2011
  4. NaNo and blogging have caused me to spend less time reading. Thanks for reminding me that I need to keep up on reading about the world and other’s blogs.

    November 4, 2011
    • My pleasure, JCB. Thank for stopping by, and I hope that NaNo is going well for you.

      November 4, 2011
  5. Thanks for the nod to our site. I appreciate it and am glad to find your blog too.
    Ruth

    November 4, 2011
    • I was raised in a family of teachers, Ruth, so I have the utmost respect for what you are doing with your students. Some of the most influential people in my life were writing teachers. Keep up the great work!

      November 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

