Skip to content

Food for thought…

When the going gets tough, it’s easy to throw up your hands and say, “I’m just not a good writer.”  I frequently forget that Rome wasn’t built in a day and Barbara Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible wasn’t written in a week either. Before I started getting the fiction out of my head and onto the paper, I was convinced that the great writer sat down at the keyboard and those beautiful words and images just flowed out of them.  That’s not to say that they don’t, but every good writer will tell you that the magic happens in the second (or sixth) draft.  I constantly have to remind myself that just because I wrote, “He snuffled a great snuff…” in an actual first draft, those words don’t have to define me.  That’s when Ira Glass’ words above help me remember to breathe, resist the urge to hit the Delete key and just keep writing.  There’s a time for getting rid of all that snuffling, and it’s after the story is written.  Although, if I was writing for Sesame Street, they might love my descriptive phrase which best describes a certain hairy red creature named Snuffleupagus.  Maybe these first drafts are magic after all…maybe I should be writing for children’s television instead.  Happy writing!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. You’ve convinced me to do this nanowrimo thing. came up with my story this morning. gotta get to work. my birthday is in 29 days. what do i have to lose, right? i believe in fighting.

    November 2, 2011
    • I’m so glad my virtual nudging worked. Keep up the great work, and think of how great you’ll feel on your birthday!

      November 3, 2011
  2. Ira Glass & The Poisonwood Bible in the same post?

    I’m swooning.

    November 3, 2011
    • I know. My perfect day would be listening to “This American Life” in the morning while I’m on my walk and then finding a new Kingsolver novel on the shelves of my local bookstore. Thanks fro stopping by, Lindsey.

      November 4, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. WWW(W): Writing on the Web this Week about Writing | Sara Toole Miller – Fiction & Non-Fiction Writer

Leave a Reply

