Skip to content

Pinterest for Writers

pinterest


I use so many tools these days to keep track of the flow of information in my life: Facebook. Twitter. LinkedIn. Email. Paper Files. Online Library Reading History. Evernote.

I also use tools in my personal life to keep track of hobbies and projects I have in process.  My favorite is Pinterest.  I’ve been scheming about ways to use Pinterest to fuel my addiction to all things writing.   I’m a visual person, so although I love the ease of Evernote for filing writing information when I find it online, I always feel overwhelmed when I log into my Evernote notebook and see a slew of text-based links.  I realized that Pinterest could fix this problem – providing me with visual links to some of my frequently used writing sites online.

I’ve created several new pinboards:

Writing Life (with inspirational and funny quotes for writers);

Creative Writing (where I’m stashing all of the links to ideas for the Creative Writing Club I’m leading at my son’s school);

Editing (links to all of the online checklists I use when I start editing a fiction manuscript); and

Writer’s Bookshelf (where I leave links to my favorite go-to writing books.)

I’m also working on a character and location board for my WIP.  Stay tuned for that slew of images.  Meanwhile, you can check out my boards here:  http://pinterest.com/samill1/ You might learn something about my sewing, knitting and building addictions, too.  If you aren’t a member of Pinterest, just visit www.pinterest.com to join.

Happy writing and happy pinning!

Do you use Pinterest?  Have you used it to help your writing process?

P.S.  I just made it through my blog reading backlog and realized that they just wrote a post about Pinterest for Book Publicity over at Writers Unboxed last week.  Check it out here.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. THESE ARE GREAT BOARDS!!! :) Ahem.. .these are great boards.. I use Pinterest too!! it is so much fun. When I get bogged down with writing and journaling (some days I write a LOT) I go on Pinterest and look at things that make me happy or refuel my dreams with pictures of things I want.

    http://pinterest.com/darleneas/

    Great post, Sara. :D

    January 23, 2012
  2. You are so organized…I’m not :( I can barely find time to write let allow help others find ways to do it. Bravo for you !

    January 23, 2012
    • Thanks, Patrice. I only seem organized on a good day. You should see my piles of laundry and floors that need mopping. You wouldn’t think I was quite so organized then! :)

      January 23, 2012
  3. Great ideas & boards! I also love pinning snapshots of people & places to inspire characters & stories later on. During NaNoWriMo I was writing a scene in an apple orchard & did a little image search & felt so much more creative/descriptive after seeing a few shots (I’m also super visual)!

    January 23, 2012
    • What a great idea, LindseyJoy. To be able to return to that apple orchard while you’re working on a scene must be so helpful.

      January 23, 2012
  4. What a great idea! Author Justine Musk also suggested to use Pinterest in a “writerly” way. I will definitely try this.

    January 24, 2012
    • I loved Justine’s post. Thanks for the suggestion, Christi. I just checked it out. Thanks for stopping by.

      January 24, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Using Scrivener to Write a Novel | Sara Toole Miller – Fiction & Non-Fiction Writer
  2. Using Pinterest For Your Freelance Writing Business | WritingSpark.com
  3. 20 Best Gifts for Writers | Sara Toole Miller – Fiction & Non-Fiction Writer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

